19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content
from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers
from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century,
with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration,
d Antebellum-era life, and overseas developments as reported by American papers.
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Explore the history, geography, economy, culture, government, and cities of the United States, U.S. territories, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico using interactive maps, articles, games, and more. Aimed at elementary and middle school-aged children.
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
The evolution of business is inextricably linked with American and international history and identity. You can now explore this aspect of American and international life via catalogs, pamphlets, advertising materials, and ephemera on essential industries that emerged in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries -- steam engines, railroads, motorized vehicles, agricultural/farm machinery, building and construction, mining, and more. The collection exposes technological advances over time, changes in fashion/design, architectural advances, societal changes, and business history.
Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry is comprised of items selected from the National Museum of American History, and contains about one million pages of primary source content.
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Streaming video of more than 8,000 newsreels produced in the middle of the twentieth century. These films, produced from 1929 through the 1960s, provide a unique resource highlighting how we learned about and lived through the events that occurred during some of the most significant years of the 20th Century. The content is drawn from the US, France, Holland and Japan, providing an unusual opportunity to see the news of the day from a perspective that isn’t always American.
>> More U.S. History Resources...