All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will close at 5 pm on Wednesday, November 26 and will remain closed on Thursday, November 27.
small text medium text large text

Magazine and Newspaper Databases

Magazines  |   Newspapers  |   Journals

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.

Learn more...

Magazines

Look up a journal title to see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP card)
For over 100 years, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the "50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium." All the information from 44 Readers' Guide annuals in a single database that you can search easily and precisely; access to over 3 million article citations from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed.
Mobile App
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Mobile App
Choose from more than 300 free digital magazines, including Consumer Reports, Cosmopolitan, Forbes, Good Housekeeping, Newsweek, Rolling Stone, Seventeen and Us Weekly. Opt in for an email notification when new issues of your selected magazines are available.

Several Zinio magazine titles are no longer being offered to libraries. Back issues will continue to be available, but no new issues will be received. We regret the loss of the titles, but hope you will find other titles of interest in the continuing and newly added titles in our collection.

Newspapers

Remote Access (CLP Card)
View Barrons in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Please be aware there are known viewing problems with the Proquest digital microfilm when using Internet Explorer in library locations. To avoid these problems we recommend using the Chrome or Firefox browsers when using this product. These issues may or may not occur with remote access.
Look up a newspaper title to see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
View the New York Times in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Please be aware there are known viewing problems with the Proquest digital microfilm when using Internet Explorer in library locations. To avoid these problems we recommend using the Chrome or Firefox browsers when using this product. These issues may or may not occur with remote access.
Newspaper Archive (CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Provides more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 39 million full-text articles. This database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers and more than 1,111,000 TV & radio news transcripts. Updated daily.
Duquesne University is converting its microfilm collection of the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital. As of August 2012, the first 79 years covering from March 16, 1844 through December 27, 1923 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Please be aware there are known viewing problems with the Proquest digital microfilm when using Internet Explorer in library locations. To avoid these problems we recommend using the Chrome or Firefox browsers when using this product. These issues may or may not occur with remote access.
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
View USA Today in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Please be aware there are known viewing problems with the Proquest digital microfilm when using Internet Explorer in library locations. To avoid these problems we recommend using the Chrome or Firefox browsers when using this product. These issues may or may not occur with remote access.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
View the Wall Street Journal in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Please be aware there are known viewing problems with the Proquest digital microfilm when using Internet Explorer in library locations. To avoid these problems we recommend using the Chrome or Firefox browsers when using this product. These issues may or may not occur with remote access.

>> More News Resources...

Journals

Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Mobile App
Look up a journal title to see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
NO Remote Access
Available at CLP-Main ONLY. Citations, with some abstracts & full text, for approximately 200 scholarly journals.
JSTOR (CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
Mobile App