Books & Literature Research Databases
Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.
eBooks & eAudio
Full text electronic books.
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Thousands of always available audio books, primarily adult titles. Currently available on Macs, PCs, and via an iOS (Apple) or Android app.
Our largest eBook collection. Find adult, teen and children's fiction, nonfiction, popular authors, current and backlist titles. Compatible with most eReaders and other devices, including Kindle.
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture
book which you can read or have read to you. Requires Adobe
Flash Player Plugin
though some are now available for iPad.
Find a Book
Shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
Includes fiction authors, titles and themes. Provides suggestions of books that are similar to those of a particular author or a certain title.
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
Search the holdings of more than 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh doesn't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan
to borrow the item.
Non-CLP cardholders: Search WorldCat
>> More Book Suggestions...
Literature & Criticism
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
Literature Criticism Online provides more than 200,000 reprinted essays of both critical perspectives and in-depth contextual information needed to understand the social, political and historical implications of hundreds of literary works, writers and literary periods. These scholarly overviews and analysis are copied from the print editions of Gale's popular and authoritative Literary Criticism series, and are available in PDF format.
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.
Searchable literary criticism of selected authors and works. More titles added as they arrive. Current offerings include volumes on Toni Morrison and Jane Austen, and individual works by Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller.
>> More Literature & Criticism Resources...