Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main (Oakland) will close at 3 pm on Friday, May 2. Customers may pick up holds or return items at the main entrance until 5 pm or visit other CLP locations.
small text medium text large text

Health & Wellness Databases

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.

Learn more...

Consumer-oriented health information covering mainstream medicine, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Full text of hundreds of health reference books, encyclopedias, and health reports, plus medical images and diagrams.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on Health and Medicine. It covers issues ranging from Sexually Transmitted Diseases to pandemics to emerging pharmaceutical science, as well as topics related to Body Image Disorders and other health conditions around the world.
Mobile App
Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Mobile Version
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Electronic access to over 1,000 articles on diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and medical issues. Also contains over 400 photographs and illustrations. This electronic resource includes the entire contents of both Magill's Medical Guide and Salem Press's reference book, Cancer.

>> More Health Resources...