Articles, Databases & More
Reliable information from trusted sources
Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.
Learn more...
Databases by Subject
- Arts
Architecture, Art, Auction Records, Collectibles, Dance, Music, Photography, Theater
- Books & Literature
Criticism, eBooks & eAudio, Find a Book, Literature
- Business & Investing
Company Information, Industry Information, Company and Industry History, Insurance Reports & Ratings, Personal Finance, Stock Prices
- Children's Resources
Ask a Children's Librarian, Homework Help, Language Learning, Tutoring
- Do It Yourself
Auto Repair, Genealogy, Grants, Language Learning, Legal Forms
- Government & Law
Legal Forms, Legislation, Government Documents, Patents
- History
Biography, Current Events, Genealogy, Pittsburgh, United States, Countries
- Jobs, Careers & Education
Résumé Writing, Find a Career, Find a Job, Find a School, Scholarships, Grants, Test Preparation, Homework Help
- Magazines & Articles
Full Text, Journals, Newspapers, Back Issues, Consumer Information, Research
- Nonprofit & Grant Resources
Grants, Foundations, Corporate Giving, Philanthropy, Scholarships
- Reference
Ask a Librarian, Full Text, Almanacs, Dictionaries, Encyclopedia
- Science & Health
Medical Information, Alternative Medicine, Technology, Engineering, Science Projects, Animals, Patents
- Student Resources & Homework Help
Ask a Librarian, Tutoring, Science Experiments, Criticism
PA POWER Library
The POWER Library statewide resource provides access to thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps and reference materials for people of all ages.
Arts
Art & Architecture
Index to articles from art, architecture & design magazines, back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.
Mobile App
Index to articles from art, architecture & design magazines, back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.
Mobile App
NO Remote Access
Main Library Only.
Auction records for antiques & collectibles, used by the experts on the Antiques Roadshow.
NO Remote Access
Main Library ONLY. Auction records (1985-present) for fine arts.
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. Updated weekly.
Reputable art encyclopedias including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
> More Art & Architecture Resources...
Music Research
Everything you need to know about virtually any jazz record ever released. The Jazz Discography gives you accurate, detailed information on over 100 years of recorded jazz in all genres.
NO Remote Access
Full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
Main Library Access Only. NO Remote Access
lists currently available printed music.
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1970. The Library owns paper copies of
Music Index from 1949 - 1996.
Mobile App
Salem History provides online access to Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century.
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.
>> More Music Resources...
Online Music & Music Videos
African American Song is now a part of American Song! To listen to historical recordings of African American music, visit
American Song or
Music Online Plus.
This site contains over 12,000 tracks (with more added regularly) that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event.
Listen to classical music online
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.
NO Remote Access
CLP-Main ONLY. A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays, from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI) and other labels such as Albany, Frog Peak, Mode, and XI.
Only available within the
Main Library of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
This site provides access to approximately 3 million songs, including Sony Music's catalog of legendary artists. Download three free music tracks (MP3 format) from popular artists each week with no software to download and no digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.
With over 130,000 tracks and featuring labels such as Fantasy and Prestige, Jazz Music Library is one of the largest collections of streaming jazz online.
Explore all of our Alexander Street Press music databases via the Music Online Plus interface. This portal lets you search and use materials from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video and Smithsonian Global Sound without having to jump from database to database.
Listen to classical, jazz and world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Opera in Video allows library cardholders to watch opera on demand and free of charge. This frequently updated database contains streaming video of great operas from the Baroque period through the 20th century as well as interviews and documentaries focusing on opera.
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.
>> More Music Resources...
Performing Arts
Opera in Video allows library cardholders to watch opera on demand and free of charge. This frequently updated database contains streaming video of great operas from the Baroque period through the 20th century as well as interviews and documentaries focusing on opera.
>> More Opera Resources...
Explore 20th-century theatre history via this streaming video database. Contents include the complete BBC Shakespeare performances, live television broadcasts from the 1950s, experimental theatre of the 60s and 70s, important contemporary performances, and theatre documentaries.
>> More Theater Resources...
Photographs
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
Authoritative articles and multimedia resources such as maps, panoramas, photographs, and videos, across all subject areas. Geared towards middle school-aged children.
View thousands of images documenting Pittsburgh history, as well as historic maps, and much, much more.
Return to the top
Books & Literature
eBooks & eAudio
Full text electronic books.
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Thousands of always available audio books, primarily adult titles. Currently available on Macs, PCs, and via an iOS (Apple) or Android app.
Our largest eBook collection. Find adult, teen and children's fiction, nonfiction, popular authors, current and backlist titles. Compatible with most eReaders and other devices, including Kindle.
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture
book which you can read or have read to you. Requires
Adobe
Flash Player Plugin though some are now available for iPad.
Find a Book
Shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
Includes fiction authors, titles and themes. Provides suggestions of books that are similar to those of a particular author or a certain title.
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
Search the holdings of more than 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh doesn't have it, you can use
Interlibrary Loan to borrow the item.
Non-CLP cardholders:
Search WorldCat
>> More Book Suggestions...
Literature & Criticism
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Mobile App
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
Mobile App
Literature Criticism Online provides more than 200,000 reprinted essays of both critical perspectives and in-depth contextual information needed to understand the social, political and historical implications of hundreds of literary works, writers and literary periods. These scholarly overviews and analysis are copied from the print editions of Gale's popular and authoritative Literary Criticism series, and are available in PDF format.
Mobile App
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.
Mobile App
Searchable literary criticism of selected authors and works. More titles added as they arrive. Current offerings include volumes on Toni Morrison and Jane Austen, and individual works by Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller.
>> More Literature & Criticism Resources...
Return to the top
Business & Investing
Company Information
Gauge the risks and rewards of potential investments by using this resource to locate detailed country data on business and trade, current economic climate, statistical rankings, and taxation. Discover whether to kiss, bow, or shake hands during key cross-cultural negotiations. Import or export with confidence after securing detailed trade-compliance information. Find data from the best international organizations-Ernst & Young, The World Bank, World Trade Organization, and others.
Find detailed information and compare multiple metrics on global or national businesses, comprehensive overviews on countries, interactive rankings and stats, and quick links to associated news, case studies and articles. Formerly Business and Company Resource Center.
Mobile App
Comprehensive, full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, and finance, including market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Mobile App
14 million companies, from the smallest to the largest, with extensive information on each and downloading capabilities.
Online versions of several business-related reference books:
Brands and Their Companies,
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media,
National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations and
Trade Shows Worldwide.
Mobile App
NO remote access
Online Access to the complete contents of all back issues of the following Moody's or Mergent Manuals to 1909
Contains mutual fund and stock ratings and reports, including detailed analyst reports, from Morningstar Inc.
Access is limited to five simultaneous users.
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
- U.S. Businesses: Information on 14 million U.S. Businesses
- International Business: Profiles of 3 million international businesses with information from OneSource (CLP card)
- New Businesses: Find newly registered businesses by date and location (CLP Card)
- U.S. Residential: Information on 135 million US households
Please contact Reference USA at 1.800.808.1113 if you have any problems accessing the database with your Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh library card.
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records and directories of corporations, their executives and securities dealers in North America.
>> More Business Resources...
Industry Information
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
Mobile App
Gauge the risks and rewards of potential investments by using this resource to locate detailed country data on business and trade, current economic climate, statistical rankings, and taxation. Discover whether to kiss, bow, or shake hands during key cross-cultural negotiations. Import or export with confidence after securing detailed trade-compliance information. Find data from the best international organizations-Ernst & Young, The World Bank, World Trade Organization, and others.
Find detailed information and compare multiple metrics on global or national businesses, comprehensive overviews on countries, interactive rankings and stats, and quick links to associated news, case studies and articles. Formerly Business and Company Resource Center.
Mobile App
Comprehensive, full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, and finance, including market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Mobile App
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records and directories of corporations, their executives and securities dealers in North America.
NO Remote Access
A sister website to STAT-USA by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce it provides U.S. import and export data on over 18,000 commodities.
*ONLY accessible in
Downtown & Business and
Reference Services in the Main Library in Oakland; fee-based offsite.
>> More Business Resources...
Investing
Contains mutual fund and stock ratings and reports, including detailed analyst reports, from Morningstar Inc.
Access is limited to five simultaneous users.
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records and directories of corporations, their executives and securities dealers in North America.
>> More Business Resources...
Business Periodical Articles
From the rise and fall of drugs such as Thalidomide to the business of oil, the evolution of satellite technology to the emergence of the global economy, this is a rich account of technological advances, business strategies, company profiles, iconic executives and scientists, and much more. This unique reference is the ideal single source for information on the most important events, issues, and trends in the history of business and industry.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective features:
Citations to more than 4.5 million articles from more than 2,000 periodicals.
Updated subject headings, ensuring that a search using either old or new search terms will return all the information on that subject.
Original subject headings to offer insight into the way the issues of the day were framed.
Mobile App
Find detailed information and compare multiple metrics on global or national businesses, comprehensive overviews on countries, interactive rankings and stats, and quick links to associated news, case studies and articles. Formerly Business and Company Resource Center.
Mobile App
Comprehensive, full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, and finance, including market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Mobile App
>> More Business Resources...
Insurance Reports & Ratings
NO remote Access
CLP-Downtown & Business ONLY.
Best's Library Center provides online access to A.M. Best insurance company ratings and Best's Insurance Reports. The database includes in-depth reports on thousands of U.S., Canadian and Non-U.S. insurers, reinsurers and groups.
>> More Business Resources...
Return to the top
Children's Resources
Find a Book
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. TumbleBooks are created in flash animation and require the
Adobe Flash Player Plugin.
>> More Children's Books...
Homework Help
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
Students and other information seekers will find articles, links to credible websites, images, maps, and more through this collection of resources. Teacher's guides, lesson plans, worksheets, and other teaching resources are also available.
A virtual trip to the zoo for elementary school-aged children, with interactive information on over 1,200 animals.
Explore the history, geography, economy, culture, government, and cities of the United States, U.S. territories, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico using interactive maps, articles, games, and more. Aimed at elementary and middle school-aged children.
Well known general reference encyclopedia, suitable for high school students and up.
Authoritative articles and multimedia resources such as maps, panoramas, photographs, and videos, across all subject areas. Geared towards middle school-aged children.
Countries, cultures, and current events of the world are examined in this resource intended for middle school and high school students.
General reference encyclopedia designed for elementary school aged children.
In-depth science, health, and technology research and news of use and interest to middle school-aged children, teens and adults.
Graphical interface for kids in grades K - 8. Searches content from Primary Search and Middle Search Plus.
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors
every day from 3 pm to 10 pm! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link.
Mobile App
Full text for a variety of popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.
Interactive online language learning program for children. Learn English, French, Italian, German, Mandarin, or Spanish, with more languages coming soon.
Contains the full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also, features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Mobile App
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
Animated, dinosaur-themed search interface for kids in grades K - 8. Searches content from Primary Search and Middle Search Plus.
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers and magazines for elementary and middle school students.
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
>> More Homework Help...
Language Learning
Interactive online language learning program for children. Learn English, French, Italian, German, Mandarin, or Spanish, with more languages coming soon.
Ask a Children's Librarian
Do you have homework to do? Do you have a question about children's literature? Do you have a question whose answer you simply cannot find? If your answer is yes, then you should ASK A CHILDREN'S LIBRARIAN!
Return to the top
Do It Yourself
Auto Repair and Ratings
Detailed and diagrammed automotive repair and maintenance information covering most major manufacturers.
Search for ratings, reviews, and news about thousands of products, including cars.
>> More Auto Resources...
Consumer Information
Search for ratings, reviews, and news about thousands of products, including cars.
Genealogy
NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
FOLD3
History and Genealogy Archives
NO Remote Access
Only available in the
Pennsylvania Department of the Main Library.
To access FOLD3 use the desktop icon on Pennsylvania Department PC's in the Main Libray.
Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served, as well as access to naturalization records/indexes, city directories, historical newspapers and more. The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.
Multiple volume searching of 1500 reference works from Genealogical Publishing & Clearfield Companies. Out-of-print, hard-to-find reference materials all available to read, print, email or download! Sources include essential "how-to" works that help to build a good family tree; colonial period works identifying early American settlers and chronicling American immigration; royal and noble ancestry; histories and source records of Native American tribes.
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Four series of passenger lists containing over 6 million names of immigrants from Germany, Italy, Russia and the famine years of Ireland.
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
>> More Genealogy Resources...
Language Learning
Learn Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and more or improve your ESL skills, with Mango's interactive web-based lessons.
Mobile App
Interactive online language learning program for children. Learn English, French, Italian, German, Mandarin, or Spanish, with more languages coming soon.
Overdrive also offers downloadable language programs.
To access the free software, set up an account, and browse the collection of available OverDrive titles visit
Overdrive.
>> More Language Resources...
Legal Forms
Access to thousands of do-it-yourself legal forms across all categories, including Real Estate, Business, Human Resources, and Wills. Forms can be saved, edited, and printed.
>> More Legal Resources...
Return to the top
Government & Law
Census
This comprehensive site from the United States Census Bureau provides access to the data collected in the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey. Interactive maps of census data, American Factfinder, Quick Facts by state and other data tools can be accessed here.
Although initially centered on New York City, you can input your zipcode to find out the racial makeup, income, home values (increase/decline), and education levels of any neighborhood. Data is from the
U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009.
>> More census resources...
Current Topics
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Mobile App
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
>> More Resources on Current Topics...
Government Documents
NO Remote Access
Catalog of U. S. Government publications from 1976 to the present.
NO Remote Access
There are five databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database.
- Congressional
Contains the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.
- Congressional Hearings, 1824 - 1979
Both published and unpublished Hearings contain the full transcripts of proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion.
- Congressional Research Digital Collection
Consists of research reports from 1916 to 1970 ranging from brief summaries to full-length studies prepared by subject experts for Members of Congress on a wide range of topics.
- United States Serial Set
This collection of government publications (1789-1969) includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials.
- United States Serial Set Maps
More than 56,000 maps of paramount importance to historians, other social scientists, students and scholars.
>> More Government Resources...
Legal Forms
Access to thousands of do-it-yourself legal forms across all categories, including Real Estate, Business, Human Resources, and Wills. Forms can be saved, edited, and printed.
>> More Legal Resources...
Legislation
NO Remote Access
There are five databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database.
- Congressional
Contains the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.
- Congressional Hearings, 1824 - 1979
Both published and unpublished Hearings contain the full transcripts of proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion.
- Congressional Research Digital Collection
Consists of research reports from 1916 to 1970 ranging from brief summaries to full-length studies prepared by subject experts for Members of Congress on a wide range of topics.
- United States Serial Set
This collection of government publications (1789-1969) includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials.
- United States Serial Set Maps
More than 56,000 maps of paramount importance to historians, other social scientists, students and scholars.
>> More Government Resources...
Patents
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's webpages on patents and trademarks will help you get started with your search. These pages are where you can find tips on patent searching, information about collection patents and links to helpful resources.
Return to the top
History
Biography
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.
Mobile App
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
Current Events
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Mobile App
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
>> More Resources on Current Topics...
Genealogy
NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
FOLD3
History and Genealogy Archives
NO Remote Access
Only available in the
Pennsylvania Department of the Main Library.
To access FOLD3 use the desktop icon on Pennsylvania Department PC's in the Main Libray.
Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served, as well as access to naturalization records/indexes, city directories, historical newspapers and more. The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.
Multiple volume searching of 1500 reference works from Genealogical Publishing & Clearfield Companies. Out-of-print, hard-to-find reference materials all available to read, print, email or download! Sources include essential "how-to" works that help to build a good family tree; colonial period works identifying early American settlers and chronicling American immigration; royal and noble ancestry; histories and source records of Native American tribes.
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Four series of passenger lists containing over 6 million names of immigrants from Germany, Italy, Russia and the famine years of Ireland.
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
>> More Genealogy Resources...
Pittsburgh
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
Duquesne University is converting its microfilm collection of the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital. As of August 2012, the first 79 years covering from March 16, 1844 through December 27, 1923 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
>> More Pittsburgh Resources...
United States
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Explore the history, geography, economy, culture, government, and cities of the United States, U.S. territories, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico using interactive maps, articles, games, and more. Aimed at elementary and middle school-aged children.
Log in to watch historic newsreels, award-winning PBS shows, History Channel content and more directly in your web browser. Browse by historical subject/era or search for specific topics. Also includes video transcripts and specialized playlists, as well as the option to create your own list of historical favorites.
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Mobile App
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
This online version of the World Almanac provides facts and statistics on topics ranging from economics to pop culture, history to current events.
>> More U.S. History Resources...
World
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
Countries, cultures, and current events of the world are examined in this resource intended for middle school and high school students.
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
This online version of the World Almanac provides facts and statistics on topics ranging from economics to pop culture, history to current events.
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Mobile App
>> More Country Information...
Return to the top
Jobs, Careers & Education
Jobs & Careers
Career profiles, assessment tools, and other career-related information.
NO Remote Access
ONLY available at
JCEC at Main and
Downtown & Business.
The Chronicle Career Library provides comprehensive descriptions of more than 2,000 jobs. Each occupational brief includes information on the work performed, training, education or certifications needed, hours and earnings, and employment outlook.
Live Homework Help has added a Career Center. Every weekday between 3 and 10 p.m., you can receive live, personalized assistance with resume writing, preparation for the GED and U.S. Citizenship Exam. Live Homework Help also offers a "Back to School" section for non-traditional students designed to help them return to the classroom. Visit the Skills Center anytime for printable practice tests for the GRE, MCAT, LSAT and other standardized tests.
Mobile App
Step-by-step resume instruction, job search advice, and career information are available to you via the ResumeMaker portal. Users can create a free account to save document drafts and other career information. Also contains job and career-related video clips and tutorials.
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.
Mobile App
>> More Job and Career Resources...
Education
A bibliographic database that provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Mobile App
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors
every day from 3 pm to 10 pm! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link.
Mobile App
Provides abstract information from over 260 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals.
Mobile App
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.
Mobile App
>> More Education Resources...
Financial Aid
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
No Remote Access
Only available at the
Foundation Center at CLP-Main.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, by the
Foundation Center (New York), profiles over 6,500 foundations and public charities that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.
Information about scholarships for students of all ages, but primarily high school seniors.
Students can search the TFS databases for scholarships and other forms of financial aid, take personality and career aptitude tests, and search for detailed college information. TuitionFundingSources.com also maintains a large database of athletic scholarships. When registering, new users should select "Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh" as their school.
>> More Financial Aid Resources...
Return to the top
Magazines & Articles
Magazines and Journals
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Mobile App
Look up a journal title to see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases,
view our alphabetical list to see if Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
NO Remote Access
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
Mobile App
For over 100 years, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the "50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium." All the information from 44 Readers' Guide annuals in a single database that you can search easily and precisely; access to over 3 million article citations from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed.
Mobile App
Choose from more than 300 free digital magazines, including Consumer Reports, Cosmopolitan, Forbes, Good Housekeeping, Newsweek, Rolling Stone, Seventeen and Us Weekly. Opt in for an email notification when new issues of your selected magazines are available.
Newspapers
View Barrons in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Look up a newspaper title to see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases,
view our alphabetical list to see if Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
View the New York Times in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Provides more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 39 million full-text articles. This database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers and more than 1,111,000 TV & radio news transcripts. Updated daily.
Duquesne University is converting its microfilm collection of the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital. As of August 2012, the first 79 years covering from March 16, 1844 through December 27, 1923 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
View USA Today in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
View the Wall Street Journal in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
>> More News Resources...
Return to the top
Nonprofit and Grant Resources
Grantseeking
Foundation Directory Online Professional
NO Remote Access
ONLY available in the
Foundation Center at CLP-Main.
Foundation Directory Online Professional is the grantseeker's most valuable resource of information on nearly 100,000 foundations, grantmaking public charities, and corporate donors throughout the United States. This database also provides information on over 1.8 million recent grants, access to nearly 650,000 IRS 990s, and is updated weekly.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
NO Remote Access
ONLY available in the
Foundation Center at CLP-Main.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, by the
Foundation Center (New York), profiles over 6,500 foundations and public charities that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.
NO Remote Access
ONLY available in the
Foundation Center at CLP-Main.
GuideStar provides information on the programs and finances of more than 1.8 million IRS-recognized nonprofits across the United States.
GuideStar Premium is a comprehensive and authoritative source of information on both grantmakers and grantseeking tax-exempt charities. It is easy to use and updated each day.
NO Remote Access
ONLY available in the
Foundation Center at CLP-Main.
The NOZASearch database helps nonprofits identify, cultivate, and solicit major gifts for their organizations and is considered one of the top 5 most used prospect research tools. NOZA information comes from publicly available sources, including annual reports and donor lists. The database lists nearly 50 million donations to U.S. nonprofits, providing access to donor name, gift amount, donation type, gift year, recipient organization and more.
NO Remote Access
ONLY available in the
Foundation Center at CLP-Main.
Philanthropy In/Sight is an interactive mapping tool designed for grantmakers, policymakers, researchers, academics - anyone interested in the impact of philanthropy around the world today. Using a wide range of customization options, users can quickly create maps that reveal patterns of giving and funding relationships.
>> More Grantseeking Resources...
Return to the top
Reference
Ask a Librarian
Have a reference question? Need us to look something up for you? We can help! Call us, text us, chat with us or email us!
General Reference Resources
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
Mobile App
Search for ratings, reviews, and news about thousands of products, including cars.
Look up a journal title to see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases,
view our alphabetical list to see if Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
Find full-text entries from select Reference titles from the Gale Group of publishers. The collection includes subject encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference works in various subject areas. Broad topics include the arts, literature, history, life sciences, business, law, political science, popular culture, country studies, and more.
Mobile App
Students and other information seekers will find articles, links to credible websites, images, maps, and more through this collection of resources. Teacher's guides, lesson plans, worksheets, and other teaching resources are also available.
Well known general reference encyclopedia, suitable for high school students and up.
Authoritative articles and multimedia resources such as maps, panoramas, photographs, and videos, across all subject areas. Geared towards middle school-aged children.
General reference encyclopedia designed for elementary school aged children.
NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
Full-text entries from over 100 encyclopedias and dictionaries on subjects such as art, history, languages, literature, philosophy, quotations, science, and more.
The POWER Library statewide resource provides access to thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps and reference materials for people of all ages.
NO Remote Access
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
This online version of the World Almanac provides facts and statistics on topics ranging from economics to pop culture, history to current events.
>> More Reference Resources...
Return to the top
Science & Health
Health
Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on Health and Medicine. It covers issues ranging from Sexually Transmitted Diseases to pandemics to emerging pharmaceutical science, as well as topics related to Body Image Disorders and other health conditions around the world.
Mobile App
Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Mobile Version
Electronic access to over 1,000 articles on diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and medical issues. Also contains over 400 photographs and illustrations. This electronic resource includes the entire contents of both Magill's Medical Guide and Salem Press's reference book, Cancer.
>> More Health Resources...
Patents
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's webpages on patents and trademarks will help you get started with your search. These pages are where you can find tips on patent searching, information about collection patents and links to helpful resources.
Applied Sciences & Technology
NO Remote Access
CLP-Main ONLY. Annual Reviews offers a comprehensive online collection of all available Annual Reviews Sciences Collection back volumes, with content spanning the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. There is immediate access to 1,100+ volumes, comprising over 25,000 critical and authoritative review articles from 1932-2006, including color and grayscale figures, charts, tables and cited literature - available via full-text searchable PDFs.
From the rise and fall of drugs such as Thalidomide to the business of oil, the evolution of satellite technology to the emergence of the global economy, this is a rich account of technological advances, business strategies, company profiles, iconic executives and scientists, and much more. This unique reference is the ideal single source for information on the most important events, issues, and trends in the history of business and industry.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective features:
Citations to more than 4.5 million articles from more than 2,000 periodicals.
Updated subject headings, ensuring that a search using either old or new search terms will return all the information on that subject.
Original subject headings to offer insight into the way the issues of the day were framed.
Mobile App
Provides articles from major scientific and technical journals in all areas of engineering and technology, including topics ranging from acoustics to waste management.
Mobile App
>> More Science Resources...
Natural Sciences
A virtual trip to the zoo for elementary school-aged children, with interactive information on over 1,200 animals.
NO Remote Access
Online access from within the library to full-text APS journals.
Annual Reviews offers a comprehensive online collection of all available Annual Reviews Sciences Collection back volumes, with content spanning the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. There is immediate access to 1,100+ volumes, comprising over 25,000 critical and authoritative review articles from 1932-2006, including color and grayscale figures, charts, tables and cited literature - available via full-text searchable PDFs.
The Internet Bird Collection (IBC) is a non-profit endeavour with the ultimate goal of disseminating knowledge about the world's avifauna. It is an on-line audiovisual library of the world's birds (based on Handbook of the Birds of the World) that is available to the general public free of charge, though registration is required.
>> More Science Resources...
Science Experiments
In-depth science, health, and technology research and news of use and interest to middle school-aged children, teens and adults.
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
Mobile App
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
>> More Science Resources...
Environment
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Mobile App
>> More Environmental Resources...
General Science
Full text information on African American history, including contributions in science, health & medicine.
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Mobile App
In-depth science, health, and technology research and news of use and interest to middle school-aged children, teens and adults.
Online access to Salem Press's Forensics Science Reference. Science reference itles will be added to the Salem Science portal as purchased.
100% full-text database covering the sciences. Includes the full text from 360 journals from Wilson's Applied Science, Biological & Agricultural, and General Science databases, as well as science related articles from other Wilson databases.
Mobile App
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
Mobile App
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
A global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
More Science Resources...
Return to the top
Student Resources & Homework Help
Live Homework Help
Get online help from real tutors every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!
Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level students in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link.
Mobile App
Literature
Science & Science Experiments
In-depth science, health, and technology research and news of use and interest to middle school-aged children, teens and adults.
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
Mobile App
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
>> More Science Resources...
Social Studies
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
Mobile App
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Mobile App
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Mobile App
Test Preparation
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.
>> More Test Preparation Resources...
Return to the top
More about our Databases
Many of our databases allow you to do all or some of the following:
- Find full-text articles primary sources, multimedia (videos, photos, audio) and more 24/7 from wherever you are.
- Download, email or print information.
- Get complete citation information for common citation formats.
- Listen to articles.
- Find images and multimedia resources to use in reports and projects.
- Set up email search alerts for new articles on your topic.
- Translate information into a variety of languages.
- Create a free account to save searches, articles, notes and more.
- Search on your phone or other mobile device with a free database app. (Look for the "App" link next to the database listing.)
Why not just search the Web?
- No guarantee of current or accurate information.
- Won't find most of what's included in library databases.
- Fewer full-text articles.
- More difficult to narrow down your results.
- Lots of sponsored or commercial sites and information.
Logging on from home or work?
You can log into most of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. Go to Get a Library Card if you don't have one. Databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer within the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Databases for non-CLP cardholders.
Please make sure that you are accessing this page via
http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.
Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.
Have other questions about our databases? Ask a Librarian using the method of your choice.