small text medium text large text

Research Databases for
History, Cultures & Social Studies

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

See also: Government & Law and Current Topics & Controversies.

African American Experience   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text information on African American history and culture.

 

American History in Video   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Log in to watch historic newsreels, award-winning PBS shows, History Channel content and more directly in your web browser. Browse by historical subject/era or search for specific topics. Also includes video transcripts and specialized playlists, as well as the option to create your own list of historical favorites.

 

CQ Researcher   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Provides in-depth, non-biased, full text reports on political and social issues & controversies.

 

Expanded Academic ASAP   Library Access   Remote Access
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.

 

Footnote   Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only)
  NO Remote Access
A database of original source documents, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more.

 

Historic Pittsburgh Available to anyone
A digital collection for Pittsburgh history, including full-text books, digital images & maps, census records, & a timeline.

 

History Resource Center: United States   Library Access   Remote Access
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.

 

History Resource Center: World   Library Access   Remote Access
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.

 

LGBT Life with Full Text   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues

 

Newspaper Archive   Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only)
  NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.

 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.

 

Salem History   Library Access ONLY   NO Remote Access
Salem History provides online access to the following reference books: Milestone Documents of American Leaders, Milestone Documents of American History, Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century, The Seventies in America and The Sixties in America. Browse and search for full-text articles and primary sources with this online reference collection.