small text medium text large text

Databases for Science & Technology

See also: Health & Wellness.

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.

Learn more...

Science & Technology

Applied Sciences & Technology

NO Remote Access
CLP-Main ONLY. Annual Reviews offers a comprehensive online collection of all available Annual Reviews Sciences Collection back volumes, with content spanning the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. There is immediate access to 1,100+ volumes, comprising over 25,000 critical and authoritative review articles from 1932-2006, including color and grayscale figures, charts, tables and cited literature - available via full-text searchable PDFs.
Remote Access (CLP card)
From the rise and fall of drugs such as Thalidomide to the business of oil, the evolution of satellite technology to the emergence of the global economy, this is a rich account of technological advances, business strategies, company profiles, iconic executives and scientists, and much more. This unique reference is the ideal single source for information on the most important events, issues, and trends in the history of business and industry.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective features:
Citations to more than 4.5 million articles from more than 2,000 periodicals.
Updated subject headings, ensuring that a search using either old or new search terms will return all the information on that subject.
Original subject headings to offer insight into the way the issues of the day were framed.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP card)
Provides articles from major scientific and technical journals in all areas of engineering and technology, including topics ranging from acoustics to waste management.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Short how-to training videos covering more than 140 software applications, including products from Microsoft, Apple, Adobe, Google and more.
NO Remote Access
ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business, the Main Library, and Squirrel Hill.
IEEE Xplore contains a comprehensive collection of full text documents, reports and standards, providing access to the world's most highly cited journals in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
IEEE Journals held by Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry and is maintained by the The Society of Petroleum Engineers. It contains more than 145,000 documents produced by 18 publishing partners. Access to OnePetro is available to the general public, and full-text articles can be obtained through arrangement with the Reference Services Dept. of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh through e-mail (info@carnegielibrary.org) or phone (412.622.3175).
ScienceDirect from Elsevier offers more than 11 million full text journal articles and book chapters from peer reviewed periodicals and critically reviewed monographs. ScienceDirect's extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as THE LANCET, Cell and Tetrahedron, covering the full range of current scientific research across all fields. Access to Science Direct is available to the general public, and full-text articles can be obtained through arrangement with the Reference Services Dept. of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh through e-mail (info@carnegielibrary.org) or phone (412.622.3175).

>> More Science Resources...

Environment

Remote Access (CLP card)
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Mobile App

>> More Environmental Resources...

General Science

Remote Access (CLP card)
Full text information on African American history, including contributions in science, health & medicine.
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP Card)
In-depth science, health, and technology research and news of use and interest to middle school-aged children, teens and adults.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Online access to Salem Press's Forensics Science Reference. Science reference itles will be added to the Salem Science portal as purchased.
ScienceDirect from Elsevier offers more than 11 million full text journal articles and book chapters from peer reviewed periodicals and critically reviewed monographs. ScienceDirect's extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as THE LANCET, Cell and Tetrahedron, covering the full range of current scientific research across all fields. Access to Science Direct is available to the general public, and full-text articles can be obtained through arrangement with the Reference Services Dept. of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh through e-mail (info@carnegielibrary.org) or phone (412.622.3175).
100% full-text database covering the sciences. Includes the full text from 360 journals from Wilson's Applied Science, Biological & Agricultural, and General Science databases, as well as science related articles from other Wilson databases.
Mobile App
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP card)
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
A global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

More Science Resources...

Natural Sciences

Remote Access (CLP Card)
A virtual trip to the zoo for elementary school-aged children, with interactive information on over 1,200 animals.
NO Remote Access
Online access from within the library to full-text APS journals.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Annual Reviews offers a comprehensive online collection of all available Annual Reviews Sciences Collection back volumes, with content spanning the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. There is immediate access to 1,100+ volumes, comprising over 25,000 critical and authoritative review articles from 1932-2006, including color and grayscale figures, charts, tables and cited literature - available via full-text searchable PDFs.
The Internet Bird Collection (IBC) is a non-profit endeavour with the ultimate goal of disseminating knowledge about the world's avifauna. It is an on-line audiovisual library of the world's birds (based on Handbook of the Birds of the World) that is available to the general public free of charge, though registration is required.
ScienceDirect from Elsevier offers more than 11 million full text journal articles and book chapters from peer reviewed periodicals and critically reviewed monographs. ScienceDirect's extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as THE LANCET, Cell and Tetrahedron, covering the full range of current scientific research across all fields. Access to Science Direct is available to the general public, and full-text articles can be obtained through arrangement with the Reference Services Dept. of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh through e-mail (info@carnegielibrary.org) or phone (412.622.3175).

>> More Science Resources...

Patents

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's webpages on patents and trademarks will help you get started with your search. These pages are where you can find tips on patent searching, information about collection patents and links to helpful resources.

Science Experiments

Remote Access (CLP Card)
In-depth science, health, and technology research and news of use and interest to middle school-aged children, teens and adults.
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP card)
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.

>> More Science Resources...