Online Databases for Children
|
Access Pennsylvania Database (Online Library Catalog) | Available to everyone | |||
|
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries, including school libraries.
| ||||
| AP Multimedia Archives | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
| ||||
| BookFLIX | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Read or listen to a book online.
| ||||
| EBSCO Animals | ||||
|
EBSCO Animals has been renamed The Encyclopedia of Animals, and is now part of
Middle Search and
Primary Search.
It is also accessible via
EBSCOhost,
Searchasaurus, or Kids Search.
| ||||
| Facts For Learning (Facts On File News Services) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
A variety of reference sources for elementary and middle school students including magazines, timelines, and almanacs.
| ||||
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Provides 25,000 informative articles on a broad range of topics.
| ||||
| Kids Search (for grades 1-5) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
All-in-one search tool to find magazine & newspaper articles, dictionary & encyclopedia entries, and images on a wide variety of topics.
| ||||
| Live Homework Help | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link.
Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!
| ||||
| Middle Search Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search for articles from more than 150 magazines for middle school aged children.
| ||||
| Novelist K-8 Plus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Novelist K-8 Plus offers reading suggestions with over 78,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for juvenile readers. It also includes Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Recommended Reads book lists, and Book Discussion Guides.
| ||||
| Primary Search | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Search for articles from more than 60 magazines for elementary school aged children.
| ||||
| Science Online (Facts On File) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
| ||||
| Searchasaurus | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Searches multiple reference sources for children, including an encyclopedia of animals, magazine searches, photos, maps, and more.
| ||||
| SIRS Discoverer | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers and magazines for elementary and middle school students.
| ||||
| Student Research Center (grades 6-12) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
All-in-one search tool to find magazine & newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, primary sources and images on a wide variety of topics.
| ||||

How Do I










