All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Sunday, April 20.
small text medium text large text

Music Databases

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.

Learn more...

Music Research

Remote Access (CLP Card)
Everything you need to know about virtually any jazz record ever released. The Jazz Discography gives you accurate, detailed information on over 100 years of recorded jazz in all genres.
JSTOR (CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
Full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
Main Library Access Only. NO Remote Access
lists currently available printed music.
Remote access (CLP Card)
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1970. The Library owns paper copies of Music Index from 1949 - 1996.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Salem History provides online access to Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.

>> More Music Resources...

Listen to Music Online

Remote Access (CLP card)
African American Song is now a part of American Song! To listen to historical recordings of African American music, visit American Song or Music Online Plus.
Remote Access (CLP card)
This site contains over 12,000 tracks (with more added regularly) that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Listen to classical music online
Remote Access (CLP card)
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.
DRAM Online
Digital Recordings of American Music
NO Remote Access
CLP-Main ONLY. A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays, from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI) and other labels such as Albany, Frog Peak, Mode, and XI.
Only available within the Main Library of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
This site provides access to approximately 3 million songs, including Sony Music's catalog of legendary artists. Download three free music tracks (MP3 format) from popular artists each week with no software to download and no digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.
Remote Access (CLP card)
With over 130,000 tracks and featuring labels such as Fantasy and Prestige, Jazz Music Library is one of the largest collections of streaming jazz online.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Explore all of our Alexander Street Press music databases via the Music Online Plus interface. This portal lets you search and use materials from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video and Smithsonian Global Sound without having to jump from database to database.
Remote access (CLP Card)
Listen to classical, jazz and world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Remote access (CLP Card)
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Opera in Video allows library cardholders to watch opera on demand and free of charge. This frequently updated database contains streaming video of great operas from the Baroque period through the 20th century as well as interviews and documentaries focusing on opera.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.

>> More Music Resources...