Books & Literature Research Databases
Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
eBooks & eAudio
Full text electronic books.
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Thousands of always available audio books, primarily adult titles. Currently available on Macs, PCs, and via an iOS (Apple) or Android app.
Our largest eBook collection. Find adult, teen and children's fiction, nonfiction, popular authors, current and backlist titles. Compatible with most eReaders and other devices, including Kindle.
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. You'll also find chapter books, math stories, puzzles and games, and videos. All content is available for PCs and Macs. Some content is also available for use on iPhones/iPads. To access, select "mobile" from the "Choose" menu in the top right corner.
Find a Book
Shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
Includes fiction authors, titles and themes. Provides suggestions of books that are similar to those of a particular author or a certain title.
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
Search the holdings of more than 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh doesn't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan
to borrow the item.
Non-CLP cardholders: Search WorldCat
>> More Book Suggestions...
Literature & Criticism
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
NO Remote Access
Full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
Find critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, biographies and more. Conduct a global search of all the included resources using the link above or search each resource individually.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography - biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures
Drama for Students - critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures
Gale Virtual Reference Library - cross-searchable literature reference resources
Literature Criticism Online - scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals
- Literature Resource Center - up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews
- LitFinder - literary works and author information; full-text poems and poetry citations; short stories, speeches, and plays; biographies, images, and more
- Scribner Writers - original, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods
- Something About the Author - examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults
- Twayne's Authors - in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers
Searchable literary criticism of selected authors and works. More titles added as they arrive. Current offerings include volumes on Toni Morrison and Jane Austen, and individual works by Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller.
Short Story Index Retrospective is the definitive tool for locating historical short stories written between 1915 and 1983, Content Includes bibliographic entries on more than 150,000 short stories published over 150 years, citations to short stories published from the 1830s to the 1980s, from some 350 periodicals and collections of short stories. Subject Indexing Includes: locating stories according to topics
and themes, locales where stories take place, genres, names of individuals, peoples, or professions that stories are about.
>> More Literature & Criticism Resources...