small text medium text large text

Jobs, Careers & Education
Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Education

ERIC   Library Access   Remote Access
Citations, abstracts, and full text articles from education and education-related journals.

 

Live Homework Help   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link. Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!

 

Testing & Education Reference Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.

 

Tuition Funding Sources   Library Access   Remote Access
Students can search the TFS databases for scholarships and other forms of financial aid, take personality and career aptitude tests, and search for detailed college information. TuitionFundingSources.com also maintains a large database of athletic scholarships. When registering, new users should select "Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh" as their school.

 

  Return to the top

Jobs & Careers

Career Cruising   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Career profiles, assessment tools, and other career-related information.

 

COIN Career Library   Library Access   Remote Access
This career-exploration resource contains assessment quizzes, career and college planning tools, a video library of occupations, and more. Scroll down within EBSCOHost to locate this database.

 

Resume Maker   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Step-by-step resume instruction, job search advice, and career information are available to you via the ResumeMaker portal. Users can create a free account to save document drafts and other career information. Also contains job and career-related video clips and tutorials.

 

Testing & Education Reference Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.