small text medium text large text

Government & Law Research Databases

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.

Learn more...

Government & Law

Census

This comprehensive site from the United States Census Bureau provides access to the data collected in the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey. Interactive maps of census data, American Factfinder, Quick Facts by state and other data tools can be accessed here.
Although initially centered on New York City, you can input your zipcode to find out the racial makeup, income, home values (increase/decline), and education levels of any neighborhood. Data is from the U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009.

>> More census resources...

Current Topics

Remote Access (CLP Card)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Mobile App
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.

>> More Resources on Current Topics...

Government Documents

NO Remote Access
Catalog of U. S. Government publications from 1976 to the present.
NO Remote Access
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is an annual one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic state of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. This database replaces the print edition of the Statistical Abstract which is no longer published as a government document.
NO Remote Access
There are eight collections you can search, all using the same search page or interface. You can also select any one or combination of the collections. Use Advanced Search to search by document number, Sudoc or related identifiers if you know them.

United States Congressional Publications
  • House & Senate Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817-2010
  • Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-Present
    The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress. Although the Record contains a substantially verbatim account of the proceedings and debate, it also contains extensive inserted materials, communications from the President and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions.
  • CRS Reports 1916-2010
    The Congressional Research Digital Collection comprises research materials produced by the Congressional Research Service, the research arm of the United States Congress. CRS issues thousands of reports each year on issues of interest to Congress in order to bring legislators up to speed on matters of debate and policy.
  • House & Senate Hearings 1824-1979
  • House & Senate Documents 1817-1969
  • House & Senate Reports 1817-1969
  • U.S. Serial Set 1789-1969
    The U.S. Serial Set is a collection of primary source U.S. government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine.
  • Serial Set Maps 1789-Present
    More than 56,000 maps that represent one of the greatest single collections of cartographic materials of the United States. From the exploration of the American West to the Parisian defenses during the Crimean War, to the layout of NY Harbor and the plotting of Indian Reservations, the collection allows unprecedented access to the 56,000+ maps of the Serial Set.

>> More Government Resources...

Legal Forms

Remote Access (CLP card)
Access to thousands of do-it-yourself legal forms across all categories, including Real Estate, Business, Human Resources, and Wills. Forms can be saved, edited, and printed.

>> More Legal Resources...

Legislation

NO Remote Access
There are eight collections you can search, all using the same search page or interface. You can also select any one or combination of the collections. Use Advanced Search to search by document number, Sudoc or related identifiers if you know them.

United States Congressional Publications

  • House & Senate Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817-2010
  • Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-Present
    The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress. Although the Record contains a substantially verbatim account of the proceedings and debate, it also contains extensive inserted materials, communications from the President and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions.
  • CRS Reports 1916-2010
    The Congressional Research Digital Collection comprises research materials produced by the Congressional Research Service, the research arm of the United States Congress. CRS issues thousands of reports each year on issues of interest to Congress in order to bring legislators up to speed on matters of debate and policy.
  • House & Senate Hearings 1824-1979
  • House & Senate Documents 1817-1969
  • House & Senate Reports 1817-1969
  • U.S. Serial Set 1789-1969
    The U.S. Serial Set is a collection of primary source U.S. government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine.
  • Serial Set Maps 1789-Present
    More than 56,000 maps that represent one of the greatest single collections of cartographic materials of the United States. From the exploration of the American West to the Parisian defenses during the Crimean War, to the layout of NY Harbor and the plotting of Indian Reservations, the collection allows unprecedented access to the 56,000+ maps of the Serial Set.

>> More Government Resources...

Patents

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's webpages on patents and trademarks will help you get started with your search. These pages are where you can find tips on patent searching, information about collection patents and links to helpful resources.