Tools

Topics & Collections

small text medium text large text

Research Databases
Alphabetical Listing

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

 

A

Access PA POWER Library   Library Access   Remote Access
Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 35 of the databases listed here, including Ebscohost, Oxford Art, Oxford Music, Litfinder and many more!

 

Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog   Library Access   Remote Access
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries.

 

African American Experience   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text information on African American history and culture.

 

African American Song   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Listen to historical recordings of African American music online
American Song   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Streaming audio of 50,000 tracks from America's musical past. Includes songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

 

American Women's History   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
American Women's History is a unique reference database containing biographies, historical and topical subject entries, speeches and other documents, maps and charts, photographs, and timeline entries that cover more than 500 years of American women's history.

 

Ancestry Library Edition ProQuest   Library Access   NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.

 

AP Multimedia Archives   Library Access   Remote Access
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.

 

Applied Science & Technology Full Text   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP card)
Provides articles from major scientific and technical journals in all areas of engineering and technology, including topics ranging from acoustics to waste management.

 

ARBAOnline   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP card)
American Reference Books Annual online.

 

Art Full Text + Art Index Retrospective   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP card)
Index to articles from art, architecture & design magazines, back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.

 

ArtFact   Main Library Access Only   NO Remote Access
Auction records for antiques & collectibles, used by the experts on the Antiques Roadshow

 

Artnet.com: Price Database   Main Library Access*   NO Remote Access
Auction records (1985-present) for fine arts.
*This database requires a Username and Password so it is available ONLY in the Main Library (Oakland) with the assistance of a librarian.

 

ArtPrice.com   Main Library Access Only*   NO Remote Access
Auction records (1700-present) for fine arts, plus artist biographies & signatures.
*ONLY accessible on the 2nd floor of the Main Library (Oakland).

 

Associations Unlimited   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.

 

authors4.teens.com   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
In-depth interviews with contemporary authors who write books for teens.

 

Auto Repair Reference Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Detailed and diagrammed automotive repair and maintenance information covering most major manufacturers.

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (within FirstSearch)   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. Updated weekly.

 

  Return to the top

B

Biography and Genealogy Master Index - Gale Group   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.

 

Biography Reference Bank (HW Wilson)   Library Access   Remote Access
Contains full text biographical articles from hundreds of reference sources. Includes citations for magazine articles (some are available in full text).

 

Biography Resource Center - Gale Group   Library Access   Remote Access
Comprehensive database of biographical information. Includes full text biographical articles from many popular magazines.

 

Birds of North America Online   Library Access   NO Remote Access
Detailed scientific information, images, audio and video for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.

 

Book Source: Nonfiction   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text and summaries of nonfiction books covering social studies, science & other research topics for children Kindergarten through 12th grade

 

BookFLIX   Library Access   Remote Access
Read or listen to children's books online.

 

Book Collection: Nonfiction   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text and summaries of nonfiction books covering social studies, science & other research topics.

 

Business and Company Resource Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Company profiles, industry descriptions, association information, investment reports, full-text articles and citations.

 

Business Source Premier   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text articles with an international scope on such topics as accounting, management, marketing, economics, finance, and international business.

 

  Return to the top

C

Career Cruising   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Career profiles, assessment tools, and other career-related information.

 

Classical Music Library   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Listen to classical music online.

 

Consumer Health Complete (CHC)   Library Access   Remote Access
Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

 

Contemporary Authors   Library Access   Remote Access
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.

 

Contemporary World Music   Library Access   Remote access
(CLP Card)
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.

 

CorpTech   LIMITED Library Access*   NO Remote Access
Includes profiles of over 50,000 high tech companies nationwide.
*ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and in Reference Services.

 

CQ Researcher   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Provides in-depth, non-biased, full text reports on political and social issues & controversies.

 

CUFTS   Available to everyone
Trying to find a specific magazine? Use the Journal Search to find out which database contains a particular magazine, either citations or full text. Covers many of the databases listed here, as well as many we don't have access to, so ask a librarian if you don't find what you're looking for.

 

  Return to the top

D

DartClix   Library Access   Remote Access
Searchable collection of links to professionally selected, high quality web sites on a variety of subjects.

 

Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database - Total U.S.   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
14 million companies, from the smallest to the largest, with extensive information on each and downloading capabilities.

  Return to the top

E

EBSCO Animals   Library Access   Remote Access
Information on animals for school-aged children.

 

EBSCOhost   Library Access   Remote Access
EBSCO databases, including the magazine & newspaper databases, Novelist, Searchasaurus and more.

 

EBSCOhost Español   Library Access   Remote Access
EBSCO databases with an interface in Spanish.

 

EBSCO EJS (Electronic Journal Service)   Main Library Access Only*   NO Remote Access
Citations, with some abstracts & full text, for approximately 200 scholarly journals.
*Only available at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Main Library

 

ERIC   Library Access   Remote Access
Citations, abstracts, and full text articles from education and education-related journals.

 

Expanded Academic ASAP - INFOTRAC, Gale Group   Library Access   Remote Access
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.

 

  Return to the top

F

Facts.com   Library Access   Remote Access
Articles, images, and historical documents covering key issues in the news, from 1940 to the present.

 

Facts.com: Issues & Controversies   Library Access   Remote Access
In-depth, full-text coverage of current issues and controversies.

 

Facts For Learning (Facts On File News Services)   Library Access   Remote Access
A variety of reference sources for elementary and middle school students including magazines, timelines, and almanacs.

 

FC Search   Foundation Center Only   NO Remote Access
Only available at the Foundation Center, Downtown & Business
Search profiles of over 85,000 foundations, corporate funders, and grantmaking public charities nationally, and over 334,000 grants linked to the larger funders.

 

Footnote   Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only)
  NO Remote Access
A database of original source documents, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more.

 

Foundation Directory Online Platinum   Foundation Center Only   NO Remote Access
Only available at the Foundation Center, Downtown & Business
Search profiles of over 85,000 foundations, corporate funders, and grantmaking public charities nationally, and over half a million grants linked to larger funders. Updated weekly.

 

Foundation Grants for Individuals   Foundation Center Only   NO Remote Access
Only available at the Foundation Center, Downtown & Business
Search grant and fellowship programs offered to individuals by more than 6,200 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.

 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia   Library Access   Remote Access
Contains over 25,000 articles on various topics.

 

  Return to the top

G

Grant Explorer   Foundation Center Only   NO Remote Access
Only available at the Foundation Center, Downtown & Business.
Search over 2.5 million grants of $5,000 or more from over 48,000 private foundations.

 

GrantSelect   Foundation Center Only   NO Remote Access
Only available at the Foundation Center, Downtown & Business.
Search grants offered by federal and state governments, commercial organizations, and foundations, with an emphasis on the arts, education, and research.

 

Grove Art Online (Now within Oxford Art Online)   Library Access   Remote Access
Encyclopedia of art, architecture & design.

 

Grove Music Online (now within Oxford Music Online)   Library Access   Remote Access
Encyclopedia of music of all kinds, especially classical, ethnic, opera and jazz.

 

  Return to the top

H

Health Source Plus Consumer Edition   Library Access   Remote Access
Information on health and medicine, food and nutrition, childcare, and sports medicine from consumer health publications and magazines.

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition   Library Access   Remote Access
Abstracts and selective full text articles from scholarly nursing and medical journals.

 

Historic Pittsburgh   Available to everyone
View thousands of images documenting Pittsburgh history, as well as historic maps, and much, much more

 

History Reference Center   Library Access   Remote Access
History Reference Center is a comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.

 

History Resource Center: United States   Library Access   Remote Access
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.

 

History Resource Center: World   Library Access   Remote Access
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.

 

  Return to the top

J

The Jewish Criterion   Available to everyone
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.

 

JSTOR   Library Access   NO Remote Access
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.

 

  Return to the top

K

Kids Search (for grades K-5)   Library Access   Remote Access
All-in-one search tool to find magazine & newspaper articles, dictionary & encyclopedia entries, and images on a wide variety of topics.

 

Kompass   Limited Library Access*   NO Remote Access
*ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and in the Main Library in Oakland.
Offers snapshots on over 1.5 million foreign manufacturers and distributors in 70 countries.

 

  Return to the top

L

Lexis Nexis Congressional Papers & United States Serial Set   Library Access   NO Remote Access
There are four databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database.

  • Congressional
    This collection includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.

  • Congressional Hearings, 1824 - 1979
    Both published and unpublished Hearings contain the full transcripts of proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. They also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.

  • United States Serial Set
    Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, this collection of government publications begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and details Congressional business through 1969. It includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials.

  • United States Serial Set Maps
    The more than 56,000 maps found in the collection, some of which represent the first geological, soil and population maps of many states and territories, are of paramount importance to historians, other social scientists, students and scholars.
 

LGBT Life with Full Text   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues

 

Literature Resource Center (LRC) - Gale Group   Library Access   Remote Access
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

LitFinder   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text of poems, stories, essays, plays & speeches.

 

Live Homework Help   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link. Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!

 

  Return to the top

M

MarciveWeb DOCS   Library Access   NO Remote Access
Catalog of U. S. Government publications from 1976 to the present.

 

MAS Online Plus   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text coverage provided for general interest and current events magazines.

 

MasterFILE Premier   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.

 

MedlinePlus®   Available to everyone
Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

 

Middle Search Plus   Library Access   Remote Access
Search for articles from more than 150 magazines for middle school aged children.

 

Million Dollar Database (Dun & Bradstreet's) - Total U.S.   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
14 million companies, from the smallest to the largest, with extensive information on each and downloading capabilities.

 

Morningstar Investment Research Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Contains mutual fund and stock ratings and reports, including detailed analyst reports, from Morningstar Inc.

 

Music In Print   Main Library Access Only   NO Remote Access
Lists currently available printed music.

 

Music Index   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1979.

 

  Return to the top

N

Naxos Music Library   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Listen to classical, jazz & world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.


 

Naxos Music Library Jazz   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.


 

Naxos Music Library Sheet Music (formerly Sheet Music Now)   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Temporarily unavailable.
View and download classical and jazz sheet music. This database requires the Freehand Solero Viewer plugin to download and view sheet music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.


 

Naxos Spoken Word Library   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.


 

netLibrary   Library Access   Remote Access*
*For Remote Access you must create an account on netlibrary.com from within the library.
Full text electronic books.

 

New Pittsburgh Courier Archives Search   Available to everyone
The New Pittsburgh Courier Online archive includes articles from The New Pittsburgh Courier (after 1966) and The Pittsburgh Courier (pre-1966) from 1/1/1955 - 12/28/2002. You may search the database and view a summary of the document for free. Different pricing options are available for printing or saving the entire document online. The Library has the newspaper on microfilm for those years as well.

 

New York Times   Available to Everyone
Free access to full-text articles in .PDF format between 1850-1930, and 1980-present.

 

Newspaper Source   Library Access   Remote Access
Provides selected full-text coverage for more than 240 newspapers and other sources.

 

NoveList!   Library Access   Remote Access
Fiction database that helps you find books by subject, read reviews & annotations, get discussion guides and much, much more.

 

Novelist K-8   Library Access   Remote Access
Use the title of your favorite books or your favorite author to find similar books.

 

  Return to the top

O

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.

 

Oxford English Dictionary   Library Access   NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.

 

Oxford Art Online   Library Access   Remote Access
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

 

Oxford Music Online   Library Access   Remote Access
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.

 

Oxford Reference Online   Library Access   Remote Access
Definitions and translations from over 100 full-text dictionaries on foreign languages, art, history, literature, science, and more.

 

  Return to the top

P

PA POWER Library   Available to Everyone
Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 35 of the databases listed here, including Ebscohost, Oxford Art, Oxford Music, Litfinder and many more!

 

Pennsylvania Foundations Online   Foundation Center Only*   NO Remote Access
*Only available at the Foundation Center, Downtown & Business
Search profiles of over 1,700 Pennsylvania foundations, including searching by city, county, and region.

 

Pittsburgh Courier
(ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
  Library Access   NO Remote Access
Full-text access to the Pittsburgh Courier and New Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), via ProQuest

 

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette NewsBank Database Search   Library Access   Remote Access
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, 1990-present.

 

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search   Available to Everyone
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

 

Pittsburgh Technology Council Member Directory   Available to Everyone
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.

 

Play Index   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Search by subject, genre, author, title or keyword to find publication information for more than 30,000 plays.

 

POWER Library   Available to Everyone
Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 35 of the databases listed here, including Ebscohost, Oxford Art, Oxford Music, Litfinder and many more!

 

Primary Search   Library Access   Remote Access
Search for articles from more than 60 magazines for elementary school aged children.

 

Professional Development Collection   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text articles for professional educators.

 

PROMT - Predicast's Overview of Markets and Technology   Library Access   Remote Access
Provides comprehensive, reliable, and global coverage of companies, products and technologies including market data.

 

Public Documents Masterfile   Main Library Access Only   NO Remote Access
A comprehensive electronic guide to Over 4 million federal, state, local and international public documents; spanning over 200 years of publication. Coverage incorporates US documents from 1789 to the present. New data is identified and added regularly.

 

  Return to the top

R



 

-->
Reference Universe   Library Access   Remote Access
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.

 

Reference USA   Library Access   Remote Access
  • U.S. Businesses: Information on 14 million U.S. Businesses
  • International Business: Profiles of 3 million international businesses with information from OneSource (CLP card)
  • New Businesses: Find newly registered businesses by date and location (CLP Card)
  • U.S. Residential: Information on 135 million US households


 

Regional Business News   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text coverage for regional business publications around the U.S

 

  Return to the top

S

Science Online (Facts On File)   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.

 

Science Resource Center   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.

 

Searchasaurus   Library Access   Remote Access
Searches multiple reference sources for children, including an encyclopedia of animals, magazine searches, photos, maps, and more.

 

SIRS Discoverer   Library Access   Remote Access
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers and magazines for elementary and middle school students.

 

Smithsonian Global Sound   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.

 

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to the in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records, and directories of corporations, their executives, and securities dealers in North America.

 

STAT-USA   Limited Library Access*   NO Remote Access
*ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and Reference Services of the Main Library in Oakland; fee-based offsite.
The U.S. Department of Commerce's site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community.

 

Student Research Center (for grades 6-12)   Library Access   Remote Access
All-in-one search tool to find magazine & newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, primary sources and images on a wide variety of topics.

 

  Return to the top

T

TableBase   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Tabular data on companies, industries, products and demographics.

 

TeachingBooks.net   Library Access   Remote Access
Audio, video and discussion guides for children's & teen books.

 

Testing & Education Resource Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams.

 

Tribune-Review Website Search   Available to Everyone
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.

 

Tribune-Review Archive Search   Available to Everyone
Archive contains most locally written articles that have appeared in the Tribune-Review and the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review (1988-). Photographs are not available.

 

  Return to the top

U

USA Trade Online   Limited Library Access*   NO Remote Access
A sister website to STAT-USA by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce it provides U.S. import and export data on over 18,000 commodities.
*ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and Reference Services of the Main Library in Oakland; fee-based offsite.

 

  Return to the top

W

WorldCat   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.

 

Not a CLP cardholder? Click here for eiNetwork databases.