All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will close at 5 pm on Wednesday, November 26 and will remain closed on Thursday, November 27.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Towers of Midnight

Fans of high fantasy should be pleased by these books similar to the latest addition to Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, Towers of Midnight.

 

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

Enter an epic world within a world, as two magicians attempt to bring medieval magic back to life during the reign of Napoleon.

 

Against All Things Ending

This last installment of The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant depicts Covenant's resurrection to fight alongside his savior Linden and her son, to save the Land from being devoured by the evil that is the Worm of the World's End.

 

Outlander

This epic fantasy features a feisty young combat nurse who is suddenly transported back to 1743, into the arms of a merry, redheaded highland warrior. Adventures ensue.

 

A Game of Thrones

The first in the amazing Song of Ice and Fire series, which features epic battles, incest, betrayal, gratuitous violence, and much more!

 

Mistborn: The Final Empire

The first novel in Sanderon's Mistborn series follows the journey of Vin, a street urchin who discovers she has the hidden powers of the Mistborn people. Along with a fellow crew of misfits and her mentor Kelsier, Vin embarks on a journey that may spark a revolution.

 

The Way of Kings

The first in Sanderson's newest epic series, The Stormlight Archive, which is set to be 10 books long, and was clearly inspired by Jordan's Wheel of Time series.