www.carnegielibrary.org will be unavailable from 10PM Wednesday, July 30th to 8AM July 31st

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes for A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard

Real life stories and novels of kidnappings and stolen innocence.

 

The People Who Watched Her Pass By

The novel begins when three-year-old Sal is kidnapped by the man who fixes the hot water heater. "Daddy" isn't creepy, exactly, and soon Sal accepts him as her new caretaker. When a neighbor gets too nosey, Daddy leaves Sal in the neighbor's care. Throughout Sal's adventures, she remains a clear-eyed observer of modern life, and provides an insightful and humorous child's point of view.

 

In His Sights: A True Story of Love and Obsession
HV6594.B74 2008

Imagine a charming, handsome man with unlimited time and resources. Now imagine him stalking you.

 

Room

Told from the point of view of Jack, a five-year-old who lives in a soundproofed room with his mother in her abductor's backyard. The room is all Jack has ever known until the day his mother plans their escape.

 

Patty's Got a Gun: Patricia Hearst in 1970s America
F866.4.H42 G73 2008

Graebner details Hearst's kidnapping, crimes, and subsequent life in an analytic way that nonetheless acknowledges the remaining mystery of this prominent 1970s figure.

 

Escape
BX8695.J47 A3 2007

This cannot-put-it-down, escapist memoir by a member of the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints will floor you.

 

Perfect Victim
KF224.H66 M34 1988

The grisly story of a young woman abducted while hitchhiking, then tortured, abused, and brainwashed into being a sex slave for seven years. Written by a journalist and the prosecutor in the case, this is a harrowing true crime narrative.

 

In Plain Sight: The Startling Truth Behind the Elizabeth Smart Investigation
HV6603.S63 S65 2005

Moving back and forth between the stories of the abductors and those searching for Elizabeth Smart, this nonfiction book reads like a fiction thriller novel. Aspects of the investigation that go right and parts that go wrong are described in a way that make you feel like part of the family. Thankfully this story has a happy ending.

 

Still Missing

This is a riveting story of a woman abducted and her year of captivity as told through her therapy sessions, and even though you know she survives, you're not going to believe how it ends!