All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Wednesday, December 24, Thursday, December 25 and Thursday, January 1, 2015. In addition, the Library will close at 5 pm Wednesday, December 31, 2014.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Mockingjay (The Final Book of the Hunger Games)

While you're waiting for Suzanne Collins's third book in the Hunger Games series, Mockingjay, try one of these dystopian page-turners.

 

The Running Man

A science fiction dystopia in which market capitalism and television game shows have spiraled out of control, and the separation between the haves and the have-nots has been formalized with separate currencies.

 

Genesis

In a distant dystopian future, the surviving remnants of human civilization survive in a sealed off island community. Their story is told through the perspective of Anax, a student historian whose knowledge of the past must be tested in order to join an elite academy. But her test leads to dangerous revelations and a startling twist ending.

 

Ender's Game

A futuristic world where children are trained for combat using extremely realistic methods.

 

The Maze Runner

Every 30 days a teenage boy wakes in an elevator and can't remember anything from his past. The elevator doors open to a self-sustaining environment built by the other young men who have come before. Every day the doors to the maze surrounding their enclave open and every evening they close again, leaving the boys only the time in between to try to figure a way out. One day, the first girl arrives bringing with her a strange message.

 

Little Brother

Caught in the chaos of a terrorist attack in San Francisco, seventeen-year-old Marcus is interrogated by Homeland Security for several days during which San Francisco becomes a police state. Upon his release he decides to use his computer hacking skills to stage a techno-revolution and bring down Homeland Security.

 

The Lottery: And Other Stories

A staid little community with a yearly lottery that few people would actually want to win.

 

Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster

If you want another adrenaline-pumping, heart-stopping page-turner like The Hunger Games, try this tale of survival and tragedy on Mount Everest.

 

A Wrinkle in Time

This is a classic young adult science-fiction novel which is interesting enough for adults to read as well. A scientist father's children do battle in space against fear and repression and save him with the power of their love.

 

Uglies

Just before turning 16 and transforming into "pretties," Tally's best friend escapes the deranged utopian society they are bound to. If Tally doesn't find her, she will be the one punished.