All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will close at 5 pm on Wednesday, November 26 and will remain closed on Thursday, November 27.
small text medium text large text

Articles & Databases for
History, Cultures & Social Studies

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.

Learn more...

History, Culture and Social Studies

Biography

Full text information on African American history and culture.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Biographical information about African Americans, from the famous to the everyday person, including photographs and illustrations.
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.
Mobile App
Full text biographical information.
Mobile App
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.

Current Events

Remote Access (CLP Card)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Mobile App
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.

>> More Resources on Current Topics...

Genealogy

Remote Access (CLP Card)
Biographical information about African Americans, from the famous to the everyday person, including photographs and illustrations.
NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
FOLD3
History and Genealogy Archives
NO Remote Access
Only available in the Pennsylvania Department of the Main Library. To access FOLD3 use the desktop icon on Pennsylvania Department PC's in the Main Library.
Fold3 provides access to US military records, naturalization records/indexes, city directories, historical newspapers and more.
A free database from the Latter Day Saints which contains billions of names across hundreds of collections around the world-including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military and more
Multiple volume searching of 1500 reference works from Genealogical Publishing & Clearfield Companies. Out-of-print, hard-to-find reference materials all available to read, print, email or download! Sources include essential "how-to" works that help to build a good family tree; colonial period works identifying early American settlers and chronicling American immigration; royal and noble ancestry; histories and source records of Native American tribes.
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
Newspaper Archive (CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Four series of passenger lists containing over 6 million names of immigrants from Germany, Italy, Russia and the famine years of Ireland.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Sanborn fire insurance maps are reference sources for anyone researching the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

>> More Genealogy Resources...

Pittsburgh

Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
Duquesne University is converting its microfilm collection of the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital. As of August 2012, the first 79 years covering from March 16, 1844 through December 27, 1923 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

>> More Pittsburgh Resources...

United States

Remote Access (CLP Card)
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Explore the history, geography, economy, culture, government, and cities of the United States, U.S. territories, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico using interactive maps, articles, games, and more. Aimed at elementary and middle school-aged children.
Newspaper Archive (CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Mobile App
Streaming video of more than 8,000 newsreels produced in the middle of the twentieth century. These films, produced from 1929 through the 1960s, provide a unique resource highlighting how we learned about and lived through the events that occurred during some of the most significant years of the 20th Century. The content is drawn from the US, France, Holland and Japan, providing an unusual opportunity to see the news of the day from a perspective that isn’t always American.

>> More U.S. History Resources...

World

Remote Access (CLP card)
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Countries, cultures, and current events of the world are examined in this resource intended for middle school and high school students.
Newspaper Archive (CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Mobile App
Streaming video of more than 8,000 newsreels produced in the middle of the twentieth century. These films, produced from 1929 through the 1960s, provide a unique resource highlighting how we learned about and lived through the events that occurred during some of the most significant years of the 20th Century. The content is drawn from the US, France, Holland and Japan, providing an unusual opportunity to see the news of the day from a perspective that isn’t always American.

>> More Country Information...