small text medium text large text

Quick Facts Databases

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.

Learn more...

General Reference Resources

Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP card)
Search for ratings, reviews, and news about thousands of products, including cars.
Look up a journal title to see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Find full-text entries from select Reference titles from the Gale Group of publishers. The collection includes subject encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference works in various subject areas. Broad topics include the arts, literature, history, life sciences, business, law, political science, popular culture, country studies, and more.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Students and other information seekers will find articles, links to credible websites, images, maps, and more through this collection of resources. Teacher's guides, lesson plans, worksheets, and other teaching resources are also available.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Well known general reference encyclopedia, suitable for high school students and up.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Authoritative articles and multimedia resources such as maps, panoramas, photographs, and videos, across all subject areas. Geared towards middle school-aged children.
Remote Access (CLP card)
General reference encyclopedia designed for elementary school aged children.
NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Full-text entries from over 100 encyclopedias and dictionaries on subjects such as art, history, languages, literature, philosophy, quotations, science, and more.
The POWER Library statewide resource provides access to thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps and reference materials for people of all ages.
NO Remote Access
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.
NO Remote Access
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is an annual one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic state of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. This database replaces the print edition of the Statistical Abstract which is no longer published as a government document.

>> More Reference Resources...

Ask a Librarian

Have a reference question? Need us to look something up for you? We can help! Call us, text us, chat with us or email us!