All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Sunday, April 20.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: The Help

Explore the intertwining themes of race and class in works of fiction similar to Kathryn Stockett's The Help.

 

We Are All Welcome Here: A Novel

In 1964 Mississippi, Paige Dunn is stricken with polio just before giving birth to her daughter. With the help of a caregiver, her daughter becomes a teenager with her own desires and troubles.

 

Brothers and Sisters

Two women navigate a road to friendship across the racial divides of Los Angeles in the aftermath of the Rodney King riots.

 

River, Cross My Heart

An African American family copes with the loss of a child against the backdrop of racial segregation in the 1920s south. This is the author's first novel, a coming-of-age story acutely dedicated to characterizing its time period and cultural setting.

 

Mrs. Kimble: A Novel

The story of the devastating effect one man, a serial husband, has on the lives of the three women he marries.

 

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Janie Crawford manages to grow and evolve into a heroine for all women in spite of being black and female in the South of the 1930s.

 

To Kill a Mockingbird

The classic Pulitzer-prize winning tale about a young black man who is accused of raping a white girl in Depression-era Alabama.

 

Freshwater Road

It's 1964, and an African American college student volunteers to leave a sheltered, middle class life for a summer of eye-opening civil rights work.