www.carnegielibrary.org will be unavailable from 10PM Wednesday, July 30th to 8AM July 31st

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Unbroken

Follow up Laura Hillenbrand's Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption with these thrilling tales of undaunted courage.

 

Conduct under fire : four American doctors and their fight for life as prisoners of the Japanese 1941-1945
D805.P6 G68 2005

Glusman has written a compelling account of courage and sacrifice from the perspective of the doctors who sought to keep their fellow captives alive under conditions that amounted to a mass sentence of death. To survive, the POWs functioned as a family. John A. Glusman chronicles these events through the eyes of his father, Murray, and three fellow navy doctors captured on Corregidor in May 1942.

 

Strength in What Remains
E184.B89 K53 2009

If you are interested in gripping stories of unbelievable survival, try this story of Deogratias, a young man from Burundi. He was on the run for six months, trying to escape the violence in his country and Rwanda, before finding a way to the U.S., where he arrived with only $200, not able to speak English. Trying to survive in New York City is as harrowing as his escape, which makes his return to Burundi after graduating from Columbia University and becoming an American citizen all the more incredible.

 

Escape from Davao: The Forgotten Story of the Most Daring Prison Break of the Pacific War
D805.P6 L85 2010

The true story of an escape made by POW Americans from the Japanese-occupied Philippines during WWII.

 

Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen
GV1062.M33 2009

McDougall traveled to Copper Canyon in Mexico to learn about the amazing running abilities of the Tarahumara tribe but ended learning much more. He eventually co-organized a thrilling and heart-warming showdown between Tarahumara and top American ultramarathoners.

 

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life
GF86.S538 2009

The author tries to answer the question why people die in circumstances that should be survivable. Fascinating read from the first few pages involving a mishap with a knitting needle, through planes crashes, and a particularly haunting scenario aboard a sinking ship.

 

Devil at My Heels: A World War II Hero's Epic Saga of Torment, Survival, and Forgiveness
D811.Z266 2004x

Read the story of Lou Zamperini, the subject of Hillenbrand's Unbroken, from his own perspective. Zamperini's original biography was published in 1957, and this updated version includes his participation in the 1998 Winter Olympic Games ceremonies in Japan.