All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, September 1.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest

If you enjoy intelligent mysteries like Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy, then you won't go wrong reading some of these read-alikes.

 

Jar Cty: A Reykjavik Thriller

Begin a new Nordic mystery/thriller series with Arnaldur Indridason's award-winning Jar-City. This powerful Icelandic procedural introduces Erlendur Sveinsson, an aging, down-on-his-luck detective with the Reykjavik police department, and a complex, emotionally engaging murder mystery.

 

He Who Fears the Wolf

Written in a style reminiscent of Don Quixote's pathos, absurdity, and subtle humor, this psychological thriller is set in Norway. The story concerns a man who has spent his life in and out of mental institutions. One memorable scene involves the escape of a bank robber and a hostage. The author is also a poet. Given its literary qualities, this is a genuine murder mystery, well-paced and gripping.

 

In the Woods

From an Irish author, In the Woods is both a police procedural and a psychological thriller about a murdered child and a detective who was involved in an eerily similar case as a child.

 

Smilla's Sense of Snow

Smilla is a smart, cynical, fashionable Greenlandic immigrant living in Denmark who, despite her general dislike of people, becomes very close to her young neighbor Isaiah. When Isaiah dies under somewhat mysterious circumstances, Smilla is determined to learn the truth. This is not your run-of-the-mill mystery.

 

The Black Path

A gruesome murder leads an attorney back to work to uncover a web of secrets, crime, and corruption while exposing a story that is unsettling and morbid.

 

Motherless Brooklyn

If you're looking for an unusual detective, look no further. When Lionel Essrog's boss, who is also a father figure as well as a local mobster, is stabbed, Lionel is determined to solve the case. The twist is that Lionel has Tourette's Syndrome, which can be really handy on stake-outs, yet comes out in full force under duress. A fascinating spin on the classic mystery.

 

Before the Frost: A Linda Wallander Mystery

Feisty rookie investigator Linda Wallander is assigned a missing persons case involving cults and fanaticism.

 

In the Bleak Midwinter

This is the first in the Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alystyne series set in snowy upstate New York. Clare is a ex-Army helicopter pilot turned Episcopal priest who, while trying to prove herself to her traditional small town parish, gets involved in solving mysteries with the police chief Van Alystyne. Strong characters and the beautifully described setting will draw you in.