All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, September 1.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alike: Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang

If you like Chelsea Handler's crude and hilarious story-telling style in her latest book Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang, then you might want to give some of these other nastily funny books a try.

 

I Have Chosen to Stay and Fight
PN6165.C56 2005

Sexism, racism, homophobia, and apathy are all given a comedic coup de grace.

 

Advanced Sex Tips for Girls: This Time It's Personal
PN6231.S34 H439 2002

Wildly funny and fuming wisdom for every woman who has entertained evil thoughts.

 

Can You Keep a Secret?

On a turbulent flight home from her first business trip, Emma thinks she's going to die. Afraid she'll go down with no one knowing the truth, she tells her male seatmate everything. From her actual weight to how she feels about her parents to her opinions of her coworkers, he hears all her intimate thoughts. Needless to say, the plane doesn't go down, and when Emma returns to the office the next day, she meets the president of her company, the man who now knows all her secrets. Hilarity ensues.

 

Chocolate, Please: My Adventures in Food, Fat, and Freaks
PN2287.L244 A3 2009

Lampanelli earned her reputation for being crude, mean, and politically incorrect on stage as a stand-up comedienne. Now she gets all those nasty and hilarious sentiments down on paper.

 

Lipshtick
PN6231.W6 M345 2000

NPR essayist Macsai's autobiographical essays on dating, shopping, marrying, and motherhood are well written, witty, relatable, and hilarious.

 

You Can't Drink All Day If You Don't Start in the Morning
PN6165.R595 2009

I picked it up because of the title, but what was inside didn't disappoint. You Can't Drink All Day is a prime example of hilarious life stories written by funny women, southern belle style. With utmost honesty and a bit of potty mouth, Ms. Rivenbark takes us through a view of life below the Mason-Dixon line. Bless her heart!

 

Stop Dressing Your Six-Year Old Like a Skank: And Other Words of Delicate Southern Wisdom
PN6165.R59 2006

Southern vitriol at its most buttery.