All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, September 1.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes for Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

If the thought of losing your memory, getting to start your life over, or forgetting who you are intrigues you, check out the following...

 

Await Your Reply

This unpredictable literary thriller concerns three linked stories. A girl runs off with her teacher. A college student, presumed dead, gets the opportunity to start his life anew. A man is on the hunt for his troubled twin brother.

 

Rebecca

The second Mrs. de Winter walks in the shadow of Maxim's first wife, her mysterious predecessor. From her grave, Rebecca exerts a strong influence over Manderley and the people who knew her, especially Mrs. Danvers, Rebecca's maid.

 

A Good and Happy Child

George Davies can't make himself pick up his new baby. When his wife insists he see a therapist, he delves into forgotten childhood memories. This gripping novel alternates between George's present troubles and his childhood, which includes the death of his demonology expert father, a "friend" only George can see, and as he digs deeper into his past, a murder.

 

Remember Me?

28-year old Lexi Smart loses three years of memories in a car accident. She wakes up to find herself no longer a single working girl but a corporate hot shot with a gorgeous husband - and apparently a number of secrets as well.

 

The Face of a Stranger

A man wakes up in a hospital with no memory of his past. Through a visitor, he discovers that he is Detective Monk. In order to keep his job, he must find out who and what he was before, without letting anyone know about his affliction. First in a great mystery series.

 

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes

A man wakes up on a beach with no memory of who he is or how he got there. He finds a BMW containing clothes and shoes that fit him, a Rolex, and a registration under the name Daniel Hayes of Malibu, California. As he tries to piece together the answers to his questions, he learns he is nowhere near Malibu, and the cops are on his trail.

 

The Dark Room

The daughter of a millionaire loses her memory after a car wreck that is believed to be a suicide attempt. When her cheating fiance and best friend are found murdered in the same manner as her first husband was years ago, the police suspect she is the killer. These crimes and the unraveling of her memory lead the reader on a tour of twisted relationships and dysfunctional families.