www.carnegielibrary.org will be unavailable from 10PM Wednesday, July 30th to 8AM July 31st

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Angelology

If you like your fiction filled with religious themes, such as those in the Danielle Trussoni's bestseller Angelology, then these titles might tickle your fancy.

 

Lucifer

Bored as the ruler of Hell, the fallen angel Lucifer abandons his post and pursues other ways of angering Heaven and wreaking havoc on Earth in this graphic novel series.

 

The Name of the Rose

In 1327, Franciscans in an Italian abbey are suspected of heresy, but Brother William of Baskerville's investigation is suddenly overshadowed by seven bizarre deaths. An intellectual mystery combining biblical analysis, medieval studies, and literary theory.

 

The Historian

The Historian includes elements of gothic, adventure, detective, travelogue, postmodern historical, epistolary epic, and historical thriller. Discovering a medieval book and a cache of letters, an American girl follows up her father's investigation of the surviving legacy of Vlad the Impaler.

 

Heresy

Centered around the real life story of Giordano Bruno, an excommunicated Italian monk who is wanted by the Inquisition for his beliefs that the universe is infinite and contains many stars that each have their own galaxy. Once relocated to England, Bruno is recruited to spy on fellow Oxford professors suspected of treason against Elizabeth I. When the scholars begin to die, Bruno must discover the secrets of Oxford. Prepare for the beginning of the Enlightenment!

 

Angel Time

An assassin is recruited by a guardian angel in this story of redemption in 13th century England.

 

A Vision of Light

A woman's story of her life in 14th century England -- surviving the plague, being saved by a midwife, learning to access her own divine healing powers -- as told to a pompous but poverty-stricken monk-scribe who reluctantly agrees to write it down for her.